Sunday, August 14, 2016

8th National Water Rocket Competition 2016 held successfuly in Nepal!

The Celebration Co-Ed from Jorpati, Kathamandu, Nepal successfully conducted the 8th National Water Rocket Competition 2016 on Saturday, August 13, 2016. Students from 25 schools in Kathmandu valley and Chitwan mainly from junior high school years and High school freshmen and sophomores had participated in the Competition. The event was organized by Nepal Nepal Scientific Activities and Research Centre (NESARC) and supported by Nepal Astronomical Society (NASO), Science Teacher Association of Nepal (STAN) and Rajdevi Engineering Consultant.

Photo: Students during the launch of their water rocket atThe Celebration Co-Ed, Jorpati, Kathmandu

The students were highly eager to show their intellect and cognition through the rockets that they had built. Water rockets are based on the same laws that govern the motion of actual space rockets i.e. Newton’s Laws of Motion. So, the students had to build the most aero-dynamically balanced rocket. Hence, the competition was based on how precisely the rockets would follow the designated trajectory after being launched. The score allocation was similar to that of dart, with different heights of a nearby target hill marked with different scores with the Bull’s eye at the height of 80m. So, to get good scores, students had to target their rockets to this point on the hill. 

Photo: Mr. Mahendra Bhattarai, Principal at The Celebration Co-Ed fixing the launcher during the competition

During the competition, Mr. Khagendra Rijal-Nepal Government official, Mr. Yubaraj Niroula, STAN Official and Mr. Sagar Dahal-The Celebration Co-Ed Official played crucial role of evaluation committee. During the competition 24 water rockets were disqualifed! Below is the list of top ten students with their ranks.
  1. Gunaraj Adhikari, Kanti Bhairav School
  2. Bal Krishna Gale, Samata Shiksha Niketan
  3. Gunjan Raj Tiwari, Narayani Modern School
  4. Pranisha Shrestha, Liverpool Higher Secondary School 
  5. Ishan Banjara, Manakamana School 
  6. Saroj Rijal, Bouddha Children Heaven School
  7. Anurag Shrestha, Chhahaari Shiksha Sadan 
  8. Aarya Adhikari, Vidya Aarjan
  9. Asmita Thapa, The Celebration Co-Ed
  10. Swojal Sunuwar, Wits Academy 
Qualified water rockets were evaluated based on how closed their rockets were from the Bull's Eye fixed at 80 meter distance from the lauch site.
Photo: Mr. Suresh Bhattarai, chairman at Nepal Astronomical Society (NASO) with volunteers/NASO Club members

The main theme of the competition was not merely to test the capability of the students to build the rockets, but to test the student’s zeal and diligency in the field of rocket science. Successful conduction of events like this, meant for the betterment of Science and Technology in the country by providing students with proper platform is a matter of great pride to us. Competitions like this can really help the students to rise and explore their interests. Moreover, it raises competitiveness in them and supports their growth into absolute individuals in this world brewing with competition in the field of science and technology. Finally, it is just another way of making students fall in love with science and technology making them extremely passionate towards using it for the betterment of mankind.

NASO supported the program with its resources and helped it for national exposure coordinating with its mainstream media in the country. We beleive to have increased number of participants/schools next year with our efforts this year!

Interested to support our water rocket events in Nepal in partnership with NESARC and STAN? Please free to write us at

No comments:

Post a Comment